*Bawku West District failed to elect a Presiding Member


The Bawku West District Assembly in the Upper Region of Ghana could not elect a new Presiding Member to steer the affairs of the assembly after two rounds of voting.

Two assembly members, Hon. Appiah Agana Moses, the assemblyman for Binaba Electoral Area, and Hon. Jacob Kobina Atinga, assembly member for Yelwoko electoral area, both failed to secure two-thirds of the votes.

The Assembly is composed of 34 elected members and 15 government appointees with the District Chief Executive (DCE) and Member of Parliament (MP) as ex-officio members.

In a welcome address, the District Coordinating Director, Nar-irel Puobenyere David, said the assembly needs to put in place all the necessary structures to facilitate development and therefore appealed to the house to collaborate and choose a leader to stir the affairs of the assembly.

Mr David noted that with a PM in place, the Assembly can then reconstitute the various sub-committees to facilitate decision making and implementation of projects and programmes of the Assembly.

He opined that if they fail to elect a PM, the Assembly cannot constitute committees to address key issues concerning the assembly.

He appealed to the members to unite for development of the area. In the first round of voting, Appiah Agana Moses polled 33 votes out of 49 votes cast, and Hon. Jacob Atinga Kobina obtained 16 votes.
None of them got the 34 votes required to represent two-thirds of votes cast. The House was therefore adjourned for some minutes to allow for further discussion and lobbying.

In the second round the Voting pattern changed, Hon Agana Appiah Moses declined by pulling 30 votes whilst Hon. Atinga Jacob Kobina votes increased to 18 but both failed to meet the requirements.

The failure of the members of the Assembly to elect a presiding member to preside over their meetings left many disappointed.

The District Coordinating Director postponed the house proceedings until further notice.

District Director of Electoral Commission (EC), Yaw Peprah supervised the proceedings.

The position of Presiding Member became vacant after the former official’s appointment was revoked by the President, Nana Akufo- Addo.